Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: 6(+)A motors with arbotix?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    AZ and CA.
    Posts
    383
    Rep Power
    39

    6(+)A motors with arbotix?

    I'm starting my build for MW'12 and have hacked a 9.6v battery operated reversible drill for one of the two motors I'll be using (to power the caterpillar treads), and have tentatively tested the amperage draw to be ~6.7A. That was with the battery as-charged right out of the box; I'm charging the battery now and will test again with a full charge in order to ascertain the upper load levels.

    Assuming I've tested the amperage loading correctly, is there a way to still use the arbotiX, and it's 1A motor/encoder headers, with two of these motors?

    As for testing, the motor bogs way down when I apply the test leads to the contact/load leads of the motor, while fully depressing the power switch. Is that normal? My apologies, but I won't have the photo's I took today (even though they're erroneously date/time stamped as of 04/18/2015) available for posting until tomorrow.

    Paul
    Last edited by Stobs; 03-21-2011 at 06:59 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    AZ and CA.
    Posts
    383
    Rep Power
    39

    Re: 6(+)A motors with arbotix?

    Update: The good news is that I figured out what I was doing the wrong with the multimeter (testing in parallel of, instead of in series with the motor's wiring), but the bad news is the motor is still pulling above the 1A threshold of the arbotiX, at ~3.8A.

    Paul

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    AZ and CA.
    Posts
    383
    Rep Power
    39

    Re: 6(+)A motors with arbotix?

    The pics as previously mentioned. Please excuse the breakfast nook table top that's substituting as my workbench, as I have yet to setup a workshop area.

    http://www.stobscorner.me/index.php?...enres=1024-600
    Ryobi 9.6v drill, new-in-box.


    http://www.stobscorner.me/index.php?supermode=gallery_view&previewm=1&a=Hack sℑ=110322095333_100_5502.25.jpg&screenres=1024-600
    The drill unpacked - felt a bit like Christmas! lol

    http://www.stobscorner.me/index.php?...enres=1024-600
    At first glance it seemed like there were only eight obvious screws holding the housing together, which proved to be true. If you look closely at the chuck you'll see that it's spinning, as I wanted to ensure that the drill was operational before I started to disassemble it.

    http://www.stobscorner.me/index.php?...enres=1024-600
    The housing came apart quite easily, with no hidden fasteners or placement of adhesives.

    http://www.stobscorner.me/index.php?...enres=1024-600
    Simply a close-up prior to dislodging any of the components, anticipating a reference source for re-assembly.

    http://www.stobscorner.me/index.php?...enres=1024-600
    Wha-La! Looks nice and compact, even with the chuck still attached. I won't be taking that off until I'm sure I'll be able to utilize the motor as planned, otherwise I'll just re-assemble it and add a light-weight drill to my toolbox.

    http://www.stobscorner.me/index.php?...enres=1024-600
    I realize this was a bit "Rube Goldberg," but I couldn't wait to setup a jig before testing the motor outside of the housing. I know, I know - but that's just the way I am, I had to know for sure that it would run outside of the housing! For this pic I just had the motor assembly fitted into a cradle I'd cut into the drill's packaging, and held the camera upside down so that I could shoot the pic with my left hand.


    I have to say that I was pretty happy to finally get started on building something, but I definitely need to ratchet up the professionalism - with a decent workbench high on the list and a better camera/video setup down the road.


    I did some web-surfing last night on motor shields, as I'm guessing at this point that's the way I need to go, but I'm not sure I'll find an OTS product that will be suitable. Any assistance in this matter would be greatly appreciated.

    Paul
    Last edited by Stobs; 03-22-2011 at 10:51 PM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    2,228
    Images
    155
    Rep Power
    127

    Re: 6(+)A motors with arbotix?

    Quote Originally Posted by Stobs View Post
    Assuming I've tested the amperage loading correctly, is there a way to still use the arbotiX, and it's 1A motor/encoder headers, with two of these motors?
    You won't be able to use the installed motor drivers. However, you can certainly add external motor drivers. For instance, this post (http://forums.trossenrobotics.com/sh...93&postcount=1) shows how to interface a pair of 30A motor drivers to an ArbotiX, and drive them using our "BigMotors" library.

    Other driver configurations are certainly possible, but will require you create your own library/interface software. You could connect to the existing PWM pins (by pulling the motor driver chip and pushing wires into the socket of the chip), and then modify the Motors2 or BigMotors library to match your new motor drivers.

    -Fergs

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    AZ and CA.
    Posts
    383
    Rep Power
    39

    Re: 6(+)A motors with arbotix?

    Thank you very much for your timely reply Fergs, greatly appreciated!

    I performed various searches using the terms "10A", "motor" and "shield" but didn't come across anything from Pololu, and that looks to be about a perfect match. My work-mate helped me test the motor under high load this morning and it looks like the peak load amperage is just beyond 12A. I'll still make a jig to hold the motor in place for testing, but this at least gets me into the right ball park. Thanks again!

    Paul

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. ArbotiX-ROS Roadmap
    By lnxfergy in forum ROS - Robot Operating System
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 02-10-2011, 10:50 AM
  2. ArbotiX ROS Package 0.3.0
    By lnxfergy in forum ROS - Robot Operating System
    Replies: 233
    Last Post: 02-06-2011, 11:36 AM
  3. Question(s) A question about Arbotix python library
    By zzl1007 in forum Arbotix, Microcontrollers, Arduino
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 11-24-2010, 02:18 PM
  4. Question(s) Newby Arbotix hassles
    By Slugman in forum Robot Computers
    Replies: 29
    Last Post: 11-15-2010, 08:52 AM
  5. How To Radio Control DC Motors Cheaply
    By Al1970 in forum Robotics General Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-29-2008, 09:10 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •