Thread: Hexapod Project

1. Post Hexapod Project

I'm still new in robotics .... But I really like it.
    I have many questions about microcontrollers and servo motor.

In his opinion for a Hexapod, which would be good? (Servant and microcontroller)

I believe in using Hitec HS-225BB servos the cost is good.
    And microcontroller .... I have no ideas (Arduino, Arm ...)

I think to use C, but researching this I saw that the Assembly would be best.
    What do you think?

The program uses the A pod Hexapod C ?(PWM and Software?)

Thank you!

Re: Hexapod Project

Hi jcrazy..
    Welcome to the amazing world of robotics.

The servo you're talking about is suitable for mini hexapod because it's small size and low torque. I think it's okay if you are new to servo but considering your project is rather big (hexapod) I reccomend using metal gear servo like HS 645 MG or HS 225 MG. They will last longer.

For microcontroller , based on my experience, if you're more familiar with C, arduino or ATMega will do well. For hexapod, life will be much easier if you buy servo driver like SSC-32 (Atmega 168 based).

A-pod from Zenta (Kare Halvorsen) uses basic micro as its microcontroller coupled with SSC-32 to drive 18 servo. (Correct me if I'm wrong, Zenta)

For a good start, I suggest you to take a look to Zenta and Xanore threads about hexapod. They're the gurus !!

3. Re: Hexapod Project

Tanks gonzo, thats my hexapod, first project using a solidworks..
    I really want to mount the driver, the driver.

https://picasaweb.google.com/1070250...MnMi5eRy9yZcg#

I use 18 servos TowerPro 9G(horrible,they soon spoil),this is just a sketch ... I'm doing better one ... I use acrylic as material.

Thanks for giving me these tips
    Last edited by jcrazy; 04-20-2011 at 11:35 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by jcrazy View Post
    Tanks gonzo, thats my hexapod, first project using a solidworks..
    I really want to mount the driver, the driver.