Page 1 of 7 12345 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 69

Thread: PhantomX won't move

  1. Unhappy PhantomX won't move

    Hey All!

    Yesterday I finished putting together http://www.trossenrobotics.com/p/Pha...2-Hexapod.aspx and when I turned in on I can't make any of the servos move with the commander.

    Once the power is turned on all the servos leds turn red for less then a seconds and then turn off. The 'on' led on the controller and the commander stays on. Also, the user led flashes on the commander. I looked on the forums last night but without success.

    Do I need to try to re-program the controller and commander?

    Is it normal for the user led to flash on the controller?

    Any ideas?

    Last edited by traxs; 04-28-2011 at 09:50 AM. Reason: I can't spell :)

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Whidbey Island, WA
    Posts
    1,694
    Images
    456
    Rep Power
    87

    Re: PhantomX won't move

    I don't have a phantom X, but I do have an arbotix and have experience with Dynamixel servos.

    First off, don't try to reprogram your commander.

    The AX-12 led is supposed to turn on and then back off again.

    Ok...with that settled did you upload any code to your arbotix?
    Do they come with any code pre-installed?
    Are your xbees paired?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    2,230
    Images
    155
    Rep Power
    118

    Re: PhantomX won't move

    Quote Originally Posted by traxs View Post
    Once the power is turned on all the servos leds turn red for less then a seconds and then turn off. The 'on' led on the controller and the commander stays on. Also, the user led flashes on the commander. I looked on the forums last night but without success.

    Do I need to try to re-program the controller and commander?

    Is it normal for the user led to flash on the controller?
    That sounds correct. The AX-12s will flash the red LED briefly when powering on. The User LED on the Commander should flash at a slow rate to tell you it is transmitting.

    Is the other LED on the ArbotiX flashing? (one led is power, and is lit in your photo, the other signifies a connection, should be flashing at a pretty fast rate, ~20-30hz). If not, it's probably an XBEE setup issue and the commander isn't communicating with the ArbotIX (Which should have shipped pre-programmed).

    -Fergs

  4. Re: PhantomX won't move

    Quote Originally Posted by darkback2 View Post
    I don't have a phantom X, but I do have an arbotix and have experience with Dynamixel servos.

    First off, don't try to reprogram your commander.

    The AX-12 led is supposed to turn on and then back off again.

    Ok...with that settled did you upload any code to your arbotix?
    Do they come with any code pre-installed?
    Are your xbees paired?
    No, I have not tried to upload any code to the arbotix.
    I was under the assumption that everything was pre-installed and the xbees where already paired.

    Quote Originally Posted by lnxfergy View Post
    That sounds correct. The AX-12s will flash the red LED briefly when powering on. The User LED on the Commander should flash at a slow rate to tell you it is transmitting.

    Is the other LED on the ArbotiX flashing? (one led is power, and is lit in your photo, the other signifies a connection, should be flashing at a pretty fast rate, ~20-30hz). If not, it's probably an XBEE setup issue and the commander isn't communicating with the ArbotIX (Which should have shipped pre-programmed).

    -Fergs
    The second light (user led?) never flashes on the arbotix. When I get home I will try to reset the XBEEs


    Thanks for the replies!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Portland, OR
    Posts
    3,196
    Images
    952
    Rep Power
    132

    Re: PhantomX won't move

    Quote Originally Posted by traxs View Post
    No, I have not tried to upload any code to the arbotix.
    I was under the assumption that everything was pre-installed and the xbees where already paired.



    The second light (user led?) never flashes on the arbotix. When I get home I will try to reset the XBEEs


    Thanks for the replies!
    It's possible your PhantomX was accidentally sent out without the Arbotix being programmed and/or Xbees paired.

    Xbee Tutorial here: http://forums.trossenrobotics.com/tu...e-basics-3259/

    Arbotix programming information can be found here: http://code.google.com/p/arbotix/wiki/GettingSetup

    The code for the PhantomX is found on the product page. Please email/PM me if you have any questions about getting setup.
    Andrew Dresner
    Principal Engineer
    Interbotix GIthub
    Interbotix Labs Google+

  6. Smile Re: PhantomX won't move

    Quote Originally Posted by Tyberius View Post
    It's possible your PhantomX was accidentally sent out without the Arbotix being programmed and/or Xbees paired.

    Xbee Tutorial here: http://forums.trossenrobotics.com/tu...e-basics-3259/

    Arbotix programming information can be found here: http://code.google.com/p/arbotix/wiki/GettingSetup

    The code for the PhantomX is found on the product page. Please email/PM me if you have any questions about getting setup.
    It's Alive!!!



    Pairing the XBEEs and programming the Arbotix did the trick.

    The only problem I had was programming the Arbotix. After 2 computers I finally figured out that you can't program the Arbotix with the XBEE installed.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Portland, OR
    Posts
    3,196
    Images
    952
    Rep Power
    132

    Re: PhantomX won't move

    Congratulations!

    You should post some video. If you have any questions about gait tweaking, please let us know.

    The default gait on these is pretty good, but I think there's still plenty of room for improvement.
    Andrew Dresner
    Principal Engineer
    Interbotix GIthub
    Interbotix Labs Google+

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Norway, Stavanger
    Posts
    781
    Images
    276
    Rep Power
    71

    Re: PhantomX won't move

    Congratz with your new hexapod (you are one of the lucky ones.... ) !

    Btw, I'm just wondering (pardon a noob Q). Since I'm used to RC servos. Isn't calibration of the AX-12's needed? I can't see anything about it in the tutorial. Or did Pypose take care of that?
    Kåre Halvorsen aka Zenta
    ---------------------------------
    Zenta's YouTube channel
    Zenta's Blog
    Zenta's Instagram

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    2,230
    Images
    155
    Rep Power
    118

    Re: PhantomX won't move

    Quote Originally Posted by Zenta View Post
    Congratz with your new hexapod (you are one of the lucky ones.... ) !

    Btw, I'm just wondering (pardon a noob Q). Since I'm used to RC servos. Isn't calibration of the AX-12's needed? I can't see anything about it in the tutorial. Or did Pypose take care of that?
    Dynamixel servos are always nicely centered. When you send 512 as the position, it goes to center. No calibration needed.

    -Fergs

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Mesa, AZ
    Posts
    351
    Images
    84
    Rep Power
    39

    Re: PhantomX won't move

    Beautiful hex! Congrats! Yes, video please.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. The Ultimate PhantomX Hexapods and Quadropods thread
    By RobotAtlas in forum Humanoids, Walkers & Crawlers
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 03-22-2011, 11:15 PM
  2. Trouble compiling PhantomX Hexapod Sketch
    By Gilrock in forum Software and Programming
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 01-31-2011, 11:50 AM
  3. Sneak Peak: InterbotiX PhantomX Hexapod
    By Tyberius in forum Humanoids, Walkers & Crawlers
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 11-08-2010, 09:23 AM
  4. Question(s) Writing an educatonal book on robotics
    By darkback2 in forum Robotics General Discussion
    Replies: 107
    Last Post: 05-24-2010, 11:51 PM
  5. You can synchronously move multiple dynamixel servos...
    By kbv2842 in forum Humanoids, Walkers & Crawlers
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-05-2008, 05:56 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •