Thread: i am a super newbie to animatronics help!

1. Question i am a super newbie to animatronics help!

hi!

So, I have been asked to be one of the puppet designers for a theater show at my school. My focus is on constructing the armatures from steel and plastics, and simple mechanics that go with it.

One of our puppets is a little adorable fat ram. I wanted to challenge myself with it... Problem. only I have no idea how to even go about researching what I want.

I would like to use an infrared circuit board I have already made and used for motion sensor, so make it so that when an actor gets close to the ram, the puppet's tail wags. I understand the wiring and such, but how to I come about getting a mechanical wagging tail? I'm not sure if you have to program something or what.

Also, I'd like to have it's ears twitch on a timed loop. I have the same problem, where I just don't know where to look to research making this.

If anyone already knows how to do this, or has a few "For Dummies" book titles I should read, that would be wonderful!!!

Thanks!

Images

Re: i am a super newbie to animatronics help!

For tail wagging and ear twitching, hobby servo's seem like they could be a good fit. You could use an Arduino to control them. I suggest the Arduino because there are lots of examples out there that you could pull from to do this.

There are some example projects that won previous Trossen contests here: http://www.trossenrobotics.com/contest.aspx One specific one I am thinking of is this animatronic head: http://forums.trossenrobotics.com/showthread.php?t=2398
    Last edited by cire; 06-12-2011 at 11:19 PM.

3. Re: i am a super newbie to animatronics help!

Ah perfect!
    Haha, i actually took an electronics sculpture class, and i have made an arduino board. We just didnt learn to program them unless we needed to specifically. I'll rummage thru my stuff to find it
    Thank you!