Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Senior Project

1. Senior Project

My name is Jacob and I am a senior at DeVry University. I am just getting started on my senior project, I am building a robotic or R/C snow plow. I am using a taylor dunn stock chaser for the frame, drive motor, and the other electronics already on the cart. What I need to do is to setup a micro to control them rather than the manual foot pedal and switches. This is where I am struggling a bit. I am not sure how to design the circuitry around the micro to make it do this. O priginally forgot to mention that this is based around the atmega32.
    I need it to
    • control 4 24v inputs low current basically used as on/off for 3 relays and the main motor controller
    • control a variable voltage input 6-10.5v
    • pwm input to control a jaguar motor controller
    • other small various sensors that I am not to worried about yet
    The only thing I could think of was using a smaller set of relays to control the big ones.

Any thoughts or concerns are greatly appreciated
    Last edited by modder man; 11-02-2011 at 10:12 PM.

Re: Senior Project

Depending on how much current the 24V inputs require you can use a transisor, solid state relays or regular relays powered via a transistor.

The analog signal could be produced via PWM and a filter, it depends on how precise and fast the control needs to be.

Assuming you have a datasheet for the motor controller or some kind of info the PWM should be easy.

Never control a relay with another relay, thats sacrilege.

3. Re: Senior Project

That's what I figured, but I also didn't figure the micro could switch the 24v itself. I didn't know of any other way

A opto isolator circuit would work to control the relays.

Just find one that fits your spec/needs and it should be available in a dip package as well.

https://www.google.com/search?q=opto...&ved=0CIMBELAE

5. Re: Senior Project