Thread: Arbotix Board and Brushless Motors

Arbotix Board and Brushless Motors

Hi all,

I hope someone will be able to point me in the right direction. I am looking at controlling a single Brushless motor with the Arbotix board. I have searched the web (to the best I could - I am relatively new to all this) to find someone who has managed to wire up a brushless motor to the Arbotix board and be able to control it.

I have the following equipment:

Arbotix Board
    Turnigy Aerodrive C3530-1700 Motor (works - has been tested)
    Turnigy PLUSH 40A Controller (works - has been tested)
    Zippy 1000mAh 2S1P 8D 20-30C External power for the brushless motor

Using the Motors2.h file if that also help and I have implemented the Instrucionset in the Arbotix PDE.

I hope that's all the info you will need. I have seen some Arduino sites but nothing that maps out correctly for the Arbotix. Once again please note I am not a pro in this field.

I get the initial sound from the controller (beeeeeeep) then a beep ...2sec wait.. beep ...2sec wait ... etc.

I am trying to hook the controller to the "Dual Motor Driver" on the Arbotix board.

Thank you so much.

2. Re: Arbotix Board and Brushless Motors

The brushless speed controller is looking for an output similar to what a servo would use. It requires a zero throttle signal (so if you were to plug a servo into the throttle port on an rc receiver the position it would go to at low stick) The zero throttle signal will arm the esc, from there its just a matter of modulating the output for different rpm. I don't know if you can get away using one of the ADC ports like you can with a servo, or if you would have to use a pwm.

I get my arbotix today and thats one thing I will be working on so if I get some code down I'll post it up for you.

Images

Re: Arbotix Board and Brushless Motors