Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: How to build a Humanoid robot?

1. How to build a Humanoid robot?

Hi there, i am happy to join this forum.

I have bought before 1 year an Arduino Mega and i used it to make a 3 wheel robot avoiding obstacles, i can say that this was quite fun so i am looking forward to build a humanoid.

I am interesting in making a humanoid with AI that can walk, speak and maybe answer some questions with AI. If i manage to complete this then i can think for other things

So my question is : Is arduino capable to build a humanoid and process all these stuff (servos,speaking, AI etc. )?
    I am noob with electronics but i am an experienced computer programmer so programming is not an issue. I am asking because programming wise i feel the Arduino has limited capabilities so i don't know if i have to change the microcontoller and buy something like a mini ITX computer.
    Also what other parts i have to buy in order to be ready for my project?
    I am asking because like a noob i paid a lot to buy the Arduino with some shields that finally i was not able to combine all together in order to work properly, or i lost a lot of time to wait for some parts.

Finally i don't have a fortune to spend so it has to be as cheap as possible, f.e. i read a lot of posts about the bioloid kit but 900$ is an issue , or 400$ only for 10 servos seems too much also. I don't want to be cheap and by everything for 50$ but i have to pay the taxes and the postal it would be nice to not exceed 400$ for everything as i already own the arduino , 1 motor controller ,some sensors and some tools already

p.s. Sorry for my English i am from Greece

2. Re: How to build a Humanoid robot?