My mech build have a Weapon ?

Concept :
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	centurion.JPG 
Views:	439 
Size:	22.4 KB 
ID:	4272
    Mechwarrior Centurion

Travidius has had a few different configurations , Here is my current build :

Name:	tmf.jpg 
Views:	448 
Size:	77.2 KB 
ID:	4273 Click image for larger version. 

Name:	tms.jpg 
Views:	406 
Size:	72.1 KB 
ID:	4274

Im looking for advice on the best way to go about firing my weapon, the gun has 2 wires all i have to do is add the juice and it fires it runs on 7.5v but is tolerant to 12v, I am running a CM-510 with zigbee , and the robotis ps3 style remote is there a way to swith the power on and off to the gun from it , or do I need to run additional board, relay ? Please excuse the noobish question Im still new to robotics and this is my first weapons setup.

Re: My mech build have a Weapon ?

Yes, the Xbee has the ability to turn digital pins on/off. A relay will draw too much power for that output, though -- better get a N-channel MOSFET with a low Vgs threshold (as the Xbee is only 3.3V.)
    So, Xbee digital out pin -> 470 ohm resistor -> Gate of a N-channel MOSFET. Then hook battery to gun to MOSFET drain, and MOSFET source to ground.
    Then re-program the Xbee to allow you to send digital pin on/off signals. (It can't do this when in "transparent serial" mode)

I don't know if you can also do this with the CM-510. That might be simpler if it's possible, because I think that's a 5V device, and thus finding a suitable MOSFET to turn on current is easier. I know for sure that the ArbotiX can do it, and can drive a MOSFET.

Images