Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Programming arbotix controller via xbee

  1. Programming arbotix controller via xbee

    I am not sure, but I was under the impression that it is possible to program the arbotix controller using a xbee connection. Could somebody give me some directions how to accomplish this.

    Tnx

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    2,228
    Images
    155
    Rep Power
    127

    Re: Programming arbotix controller via xbee

    There are some notes in the "Wireless Uploading" section of https://code.google.com/p/arbotix/wiki/GettingSetup. Please note the various warnings posted in that section.

    -Fergs

  3. Re: Programming arbotix controller via xbee

    I found those, but they weren't clear enough for me. But not advisable I understand?

  4. #4

    Re: Programming arbotix controller via xbee

    I have only done it a few times, but the basic steps were:

    Have a paired set of XBees. Make sure the one on the Arbotix is configured for the baud rate 38400.

    Have the other XBee connected to your PC (or linux or...) also set at 38400.

    In the IDE select the Comm port that your XBee is in.

    Now try to do a download. Note: the default configuration of the XBee is such that it won't reset the processor, to start the programming. So you need to hit the reset button just as the IDE wants to do the download. I actually held it down until the IDE says, starting download and then released the button. There is a way to change the hardware to have the XBee to be able to do a reset. I did not have much luck with it, but maybe you will be luckier. Look at the link the lynxfergy mentioned. In that document to an article on ladyada site.

    After I tried this a couple of times it failed and then I needed to use my AVRISP2 to program it.

    Kurt

  5. Re: Programming arbotix controller via xbee

    Thanks for clearing that up Kurt. Especially the need for an AVRISP2, wich I don't own. This doesn't sound very promising. I am not going to do that. So this advice is very much appriciated :-)

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Question(s) Need help programming Arbotix Commander (from quad kit)
    By lumpen5 in forum Software and Programming
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 11-09-2012, 11:57 AM
  2. Question(s) where in the Arbotix AVR code is it talking to the XBEE serial port?
    By stephen.hazel in forum Arbotix, Microcontrollers, Arduino
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 05-04-2012, 12:21 PM
  3. Question(s) Arbotix and Xbee Pro
    By Shredder in forum Arbotix, Microcontrollers, Arduino
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 02-16-2011, 08:06 PM
  4. Question(s) ArbotiX, XBee and The FTDI Basic Breakout
    By Robonaut in forum Arbotix, Microcontrollers, Arduino
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-27-2010, 08:22 PM
  5. trouble programming xbee with x-ctu
    By toocool in forum Software and Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-27-2009, 11:59 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •