Trossen Dynamixel High Thread Banner
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Why does the forum not work on Internet Explorer 10?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    1,821
    Images
    25
    Rep Power
    60

    Why does the forum not work on Internet Explorer 10?

    The edit widget does not work in Internet Explorer 10 (Windows 8.)
    I can browse the forum, but when I try to edit, typing does nothing. It doesn't matter whether I have styling on or off in the text edit box.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    South Sphincter Idaho
    Posts
    609
    Images
    104
    Rep Power
    51

    Re: Why does the forum not work on Internet Explorer 10?

    Firefox 20 in windows 8 seems to work fine..haven't tried IE..
    Team Maggot---Mechs. "Bheka" (retired), "Maggot Mk.3(A)"
    " Keep your stick on the ice ".... Red Green

  3. #3

    Re: Why does the forum not work on Internet Explorer 10?

    Thought I would check. Majority of the time I have been using Firefox as to get spelling checked and some to filter out Pop ups... I can type, but CR does not do anything.

  4. Trossen Dynamixel High Thread Banner
  5. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    449
    Images
    107
    Rep Power
    23

    Re: Why does the forum not work on Internet Explorer 10?

    Hmm, this works. Oh right. I'm using IE 8, because WinXP....

  6. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    1,821
    Images
    25
    Rep Power
    60

    Re: Why does the forum not work on Internet Explorer 10?

    Windows 8 is annoying, because you can only have one default browser for the entire system. So, if you make Chrome your default browser on the desktop, any shortcut/link you open while in metro/tablet mode, switches to desktop to open Chrome, because Chrome doesn't have the right tile/XAML/whatever magic. Thus, IE10 is the default browser, so that the tablet experience is good, but the editor on this forum doesn't work with soft keyboard in IE10 at all.

    Desktop, Chrome works fine (as you can open it with a direct shortcut.)

  7. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    449
    Images
    107
    Rep Power
    23

    Re: Why does the forum not work on Internet Explorer 10?

    Surface Pro?

  8. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    1,821
    Images
    25
    Rep Power
    60

    Re: Why does the forum not work on Internet Explorer 10?

    No, Samsung 700T, but same idea (and limitations.)
    Slightly bigger screen, but worse keyboard than the pro.

  9. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Trossen Robotics
    Posts
    3,117
    Images
    933
    Rep Power
    110

    Re: Why does the forum not work on Internet Explorer 10?

    I'll let Kyle know about this. For future reference, any and all forums/website stuff can be sent to him. Kyle (at) trossenrobotics.com is his direct email if you don't want to ping him on here.
    Andrew Alter
    Trossen Robotics
    Join the Robotic Combat Revolution @ Mech Warfare!

  10. #9

    Re: Why does the forum not work on Internet Explorer 10?

    I know that this sort of an older thread, but thought I would mention that I am now part of the time using Internet Explorer 11, instead of Firefox as there are some different websites that do not support Firefox. Also with IE11, they took care of some of the main reasons I switched to Firefox, Addblock plus is available and there is built in spell checking.

    However I have run into issues with running IE with the forum. Luckily most of them are solved when I switch from WYSIWYG mode to source mode. When I am in WYSIWYG, for whatever reason, the editor eats several characters as I type them. For awhile I thought my keyboard was acting up (like it needed new batteries), but then I noticed it was only happening here. Also ctrl+v would not do a paste and could not enter special characters using the ALT+numpad keys like: å

    Another side note: Addblock plus for IE and Addblock plus for firefox work differently on your forum. On Firefox, it removes the whole banners including the stuff around it. On IE it removes the banner, but sometimes leaves the space for it and the page does not complete... (Note: work fine now that I told ABP to disable itself on this site).

    Again for anyone else that is using IE with this forum, works much better in Source mode (Little A/Big A) button far left.

    Kurt

    P.S - Will email Kyle
    Last edited by KurtEck; 12-26-2013 at 01:00 PM.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. New ROS Sub-Forum
    By lnxfergy in forum ROS - Robot Operating System
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-01-2010, 01:22 AM
  2. Interesting DepthX underwater explorer
    By brellis in forum Robotics General Discussion
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 12-23-2008, 07:29 PM
  3. How to behave on an Internet Forum
    By Alex in forum Off Topic
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 07-27-2008, 12:24 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •