Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Project BETH aka Dan's journey into a lot of things.

Images

Project BETH aka Dan's journey into a lot of things.

Hello all,

I'd like to share my progress so far with "BETH" which i hope to someday live up to her name - Battle Enhanced all-Terrain Hexapod. I'll keep working on the name...

I'm a EE by trade, and am working on this, of course, out of interest, but also to brush up on embedded systems and programming.

Right now BETH is physically a MKII PhantomX hexapod using AX12 servos. I really want to learn how it all works so I'm starting over software-wise with my own code. Well mostly, I am using the ax12 and commander libraries. What I'm REALLY interested in is traversing uneven terrain. The Boston Dynamic robots are absolutely incredible. I hope to someday have my hex able to navigate off road. I'm also interested in MechWarfare so I'd like to work toward an airsoft gun turret that can maybe follow a color/target and shoot it. Sort of scary, sort of awesome.

But first, baby steps. (Or baby stands...)

First, i learned about leg IK. Fortunately there are lots of great resources online. It was really satisfying to go through the math, implement the functions and see them actually work. BETH can point a foot in 3D space!

Next I tackled the body translations and rotations. Basically this consists of using a rotation matrix to figure out leg X,Y,Z offsets for a given body rotation or translation. These offsets are factored into the legIK algorithm.

My source for a lot of this info online was this blog: http://blog.oscarliang.net/inverse-k...ometry-basics/ He provides a nice Excel sheet for "simulating" your functions and seeing the hex move. I cleaned up his sheet and made it fit the MkII PhantomX Hex and my coding style. I made the sheet in Open Office. The attachment is both old Excel 97 and ODS format:

DansHexMath_V1.0_June7.zip