Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: using pypose question

  1. using pypose question

    i have a quadpod that uses 12 ax-12 servos (3 on each leg) and i am trying to get pypose to work. I used kurts program to set the id of each servo (i actually set them all to a number and then unplugged them one at a time while setting all that were left to an id until there was only one left). When i use the capture function in NUKE, i get an unable to read servo 1 error and so on through the servos. This is what my CMD says
    pypose starting...
    opening port: COM8
    Relax servos for capture...
    pypose: relaxing servos...
    and then
    0xff found
    0xff found
    ID found:1
    Length found:2
    Error level found: 0
    Checksum found:252
    Checksum computed:255
    and this repeats all the way to id 12. The only difference in them is that the checksum found number decreases by 1 each time. Then it says
    Fail Read
    Read Failed: Servo ID = 1
    and this repeats 4 times.

    why wont it work? Does it matter that i have 3 servos wired consecutively for each leg and then each leg wired all into 1 port?
    Last edited by deathwiz; 12-20-2013 at 11:57 AM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    547
    Images
    107
    Rep Power
    43

    Re: using pypose question

    Just to try and clarify what your testing setup is... what happens if you have just one servo attached?

    Also, just in case, what power supply are you using when trying to communicate with the servos?

  3. #3

    Re: using pypose question

    It sounds to me as if you're seeing contention on the bus. Likely, your servos are not all at different IDs.
    You should not "set the id" on all of the servos at a time. It may work, but more likely, it may not. You should plug in one servo at a time, and set the ID of that servo; repeat.
    Personally, I start numbering servos at id 4 to make sure id 1 is left free for maintenance.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Arbotix & PyPose
    By Suicidal.Banana in forum Software and Programming
    Replies: 90
    Last Post: 12-21-2017, 04:12 PM
  2. Trouble Running Pypose (Mac)
    By Brummel in forum Software and Programming
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 02-15-2013, 08:26 AM
  3. Pypose examples for PhantomX?
    By KurtEck in forum Humanoids, Walkers & Crawlers
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-03-2012, 01:14 PM
  4. pypose problems
    By Shredder in forum Software and Programming
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 02-22-2011, 11:15 PM
  5. Trying PyPose with a USB2Dynamixel
    By Pi Robot in forum Software and Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-23-2010, 05:01 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •