Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: 18 Dynamixel Ax-12A with ArbotiX/Arduino - How to connect the dynamixel?

1. 18 Dynamixel Ax-12A with ArbotiX/Arduino - How to connect the dynamixel?

Hi everybody
    I'm a 17 years old student from Southtyrol/Italy and i'm going to build a 3DOF Hexapod with 18 Dynamixel AX-12A Servos. After the fixing of the mechanic "problems" to build the frame now I'm going to develop the Hard-/Software for my Hexapod. After some researches on the web I ended up with some several, fundamental problems that i need to fix before i start with the developing of the Hardware...

1) I found out that many people out there use the ArbotiX-M Robocontroller to controller their Dynamixels, other people use an Arduino Board like the Mega2560. I at first thought to build my board completly myself with the help of my teacher, but the temptation to get a more or less completly board(LiPo under voltage protection, ...) on the ArbotiX or also on the Arduino Board where I would need to develop a additional board with the Tristate and output Drivers for the Dynamixel is pretty big, so that I'm sure that if (For sure..;D) I get problems I can say that this is only a Software and not Hardware problem... Anyone already had this question before the Developing of his Hardware and could give me some tips?

2) Because my Hexapod is going to have 18 Dynamixel inside i have 3 options to link the Dynamixels...
    a) I put 6 together in one line (Is this fast enaugh? Voltage supply and current for the Output of the ArbotiX okay?)
    b) I multiplex 6 RX/TX Lines to the 3 RX/TX pins of the microcontroller like that ATmega2560.
    c) I "convert " the I/O Pins of the microcontroller with some
    converters into RX/TX Pins...

Greetings Fabian

2. Re: 18 Dynamixel Ax-12A with ArbotiX/Arduino - How to connect the dynamixel?