Thread: Hi there, I'm new!

badshar Guest

Hi there, I'm new!

Hello all,

My name is Saurabh and I am a college sophomore. I am studying computer science and might take up robotic engineering as a second major.

Since pretty much forever, I have been very interested in computers and technology in general. In fact, among my friends, I am usually the most technically literate and they usually ask me questions and help for technical thing, not trying to brag or anything, haha.

I remember a couple years ago, I started watching a show called, "Small Wonder", which used to come back in the 80's. The whole idea of humanoid robots amazed me. How you can program them and make them nearly human-like. When I watched Iron-Man, I was amazed yet again. The numerous types of robot, including one that had voice interaction and talked like a human. Since then, I have been doing a little bit research on robots, including being on my school's robotics team and competing in competitions.

I am excited to be a part of this community and hope to learn a lot of valuable things from this forum and the people.

Images

Re: Hi there, I'm new!

I hate to rain on your parade, but the Iron Man movies are mostly CGI and technobabble, and a near complete denial of the laws of physics. No amount of rigid armor will keep the rapid accelerations routinely performed in the suits from crushing bones, rupturing blood vessels, stopping the heart, and eventually smashing the brain into a puddle of bloody goo within the skull. Just falling over from a standing position onto a concrete sidewalk can cause enough brain damage to kill a human. Fortunately for robotics researchers, most components in robots are designed to be significantly less susceptible to damage from mechanical shock and vibration, and are also far easier to repair/replace when damaged, than their organic counterparts.