Thread: Strange behavior of OpenCM9.04

Strange behavior of OpenCM9.04

Background of project: I put together a PhantomX turret and have an OpenCM9.04 B attached to control it. The 9.04 receives serial commands over hardware UART serial3 via a connected XBEE series 1 radio. The 9.04, the AX-12As, and the XBEE are powered through the +- inputs of board using a 3S lipo battery. I have a home built XBEE transceiver that sends commands compatible with the Commander library, which is modified to work on the 9.04 serial3. I have used this XBEE TX/RX solution before for other (hobby servo) pan/tilt turrets and robot control with (and without) the Commander library with great success. This is my first time using Dynamixel servos and the OpenCM9.04 and OpenCM IDE.

Description of problem: The problem is very strange (to me at least) so I will be careful to precisely explain its manifestation. I wrote some simple code to test out the system and I usually do in situations when testing RX/TX code I had the serial commands being received by 9.04 being printed to the serial monitor for debugging. The code worked just fine however only under the following circumstances:

A.
    1. Plug 9.04 into USB
    2. Switch external 3S supply ON (The switch is the one on the bottom of 9.04 and the battery is a freshly charged to 12V, good quality lipo)

B.
    1. Plug 9.04 into USB
    2. Switch external 3S supply ON
    3. Unplug 9.04 from USB

The system will not work under these circumstances:

C.
    1. (Only) switch external 3S supply ON

D.
    1. Switch external 3S supply ON
    2. Plug 9.04 into USB