Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Feeding Coordinates to Pincher Arm.

1. Feeding Coordinates to Pincher Arm.

Hi,
    I'm a beginner to arduino and arm programming, but have decent experience in c++, I currently have a project in c++ in visual studio that outputs (x,y,z) coords, right hand rule (openGL for reference). (I can write them to file if needs be).

Ive added the arduino visual studio add on to VS, so I can program my board and my arm. But I can't find much info on moving the pincher head directly to a point in free space without assigning values to each servo.

I'd basically like to set the base of the arm as (0,0,0), set an exclusion zone, and then be able to send the pincher head to any coordinate I send to the code, within the given range. Is this possible?

I realise this is going to more complex than I'd like, but I think I've missed some documentation.

Can anyone point in the direction of tutorials / an API reference that would get me going?

Thanks

Re: Feeding Coordinates to Pincher Arm.

We have some firmware for the pincher that will allow you to send the Pincher Cartesian, cylindrical, or joint data. You can find info on the firmware and a demo application here
    http://learn.trossenrobotics.com/20-...-software.html
    I'd recommend running the demo app to get acquainted with the functionality.

The program sends the coordinates via a serial packet. This article goes over the packet structure and other info
    http://learn.trossenrobotics.com/arb...reference.html
    You'll need to generate the correct serial pacets to get the arm to move to different positions. We have example packets here
    http://learn.trossenrobotics.com/20-...-examples.html

You can find all of the documetnation links for the pincher here
    http://learn.trossenrobotics.com/38-...robot-arm.html

Kyles suggestions give you the actual software to do what you want.