Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Thread: It's ALIVE!

1. It's ALIVE!

My first robot walks for the first time today! It's pretty rudimentary still, but I'm pretty happy with the movement considering its my first attempt.

At the moment, the legs are a bit ungainly. The distals are a bit too long. I'd originally intended each limb to have 4 dof, but decided the power costs and programming complexity weren't worth the extra dof. I've redesigned them and am waiting for Shapeways to finish printing them. The new ones will be shorter and have receptacles to which I will attach rubber feet.

I still have to attach a battery for improved autonomy, and I hope to ditch the ArbotiX in favor of an Edison.

Re: It's ALIVE!

Those legs look pretty cool when it's scrunched together, though :-)
    Are you using Nuke or your own code?

3. Re: It's ALIVE!

Quote Originally Posted by jwatte View Post
    Those legs look pretty cool when it's scrunched together, though :-)
    Thanks! The redesign will be similar, just not as long. And, as you can see in the video, the pointy tips have poor traction.

Are you using Nuke or your own code?
    I'm calling into the ax library on the ArbotiX to interface with the servos, but the rest is home brewed ... reinventing the wheel, but I want to learn.

as you can see in the video, the pointy tips have poor traction
    Are you doing IK? If not, the slipping may be simply because the feet don't move exactly straigt compared to the body/ground.

reinventing the wheel, but I want to learn
    I wrote my own IK/walking too. Not a bad way to go :-)

Images

Nice work! Looks beautiful when it lower the body and the legs folds like a half sphere. The rather long tibias might be a problem in some cases though, like the need of expanding the initial leg positions.

Keep up the good work!
    Kåre Halvorsen aka Zenta
    ---------------------------------
    Zenta's YouTube channel
    Zenta's Blog
    Zenta's Instagram

6. Re: It's ALIVE!

Are you doing IK?