Thread: Using AX-12A in zero torque mode.

1. Using AX-12A in zero torque mode.

Hi, I'm very new to robotics, I'm planning to make heavy use of the AX-12A capability of reading back current position. However I noticed that (when powered off) the servos are actually quite stiff! This will make manually posing my robot a bit hard!

In this video they seem softer for some reason, is that because of a special zero torque setting when powered on?

best regards!

Re: Using AX-12A in zero torque mode.

the servos are actually quite stiff! This will make manually posing my robot a bit hard!
    They are stiff when you try to turn the horn directly, because there is no leverage to generate torque.
    When the robot is assembled, the brackets/legs/arms give you a lot of leverage, and suddenly those same horns feel like butter.
    There is no difference between "on with 0 torque" and "off." It is only a difference in the "distance" part of "torque = distance * force."
    Last edited by jwatte; 06-06-2015 at 08:27 PM.

3. Re: Using AX-12A in zero torque mode.

Thank you, well that's bad for me then I understand about the leverage but my original design was using some mechanical advantage to gain torque, the problem with this is you also increase the stiffness of the arm and the servo will just not turn unless the general mechanism is really sturdy (and heavy). In essence the reduction system works excellent when it's powered by the servos but becomes unusable when moving it manually. Well you live and learn

Thanks for the reply
    Last edited by ZanQdo; 06-06-2015 at 02:03 PM.

Can you post pictures, or at least a diagram? The servos aren't *that* hard to turn manually.
    Maybe something else is going on.
    Did you use cycloidal gears, or strain wave gears? Those are not back-drivable and would make the assembly impossible to move without power.

5. Re: Using AX-12A in zero torque mode.

Quote Originally Posted by jwatte View Post