Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: HR-OS1 Has anyone added additional servos ?

  1. Question HR-OS1 Has anyone added additional servos ?

    Hi everyone,

    We are trying to add two new servos as robot's hands, not replace servo No.5 and No.6. So, we add names and numbers of these two servos in related files. And then use "dxl_monitor" to set the numbers to be 21 and 22. But there are some problems in rme.

    1. I create a new motion page with one step in rme. The value of two new servos have been saved in motion file. When playing this new page, the servos from No.1 to No.20 can work as usual, but two new servos doesn't work.

    2. I copy an existing page as a new page. Obviously, it doesn't have the value of two new servos in step column, just show "----". So I copy the value of step 7 to a step. When playing the page, all the servos do not work.

    3. If I change the value of two new servos in an existing page directly, this page will not work either.

    4. The new servos can only work when I change the value in step 07. Because function SetValue() in step 07 use function writeword() to change the value of servos in real time. But other steps only change and save the value in the motion file.

    Has anyone added additional servos like us? Can new servos work in rme? I don't know why they doesn't work, I guess the reason is about the format of motion file. Any suggestions? Sorry for my bad English.

    Shirley

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    342
    Images
    15
    Rep Power
    43

    Re: HR-OS1 Has anyone added additional servos ?

    Hi Shirley

    I have not gone through the process of adding servos to the HR-OS1 but I have taken a look at the source code. To play back motions in rme the Action.cpp motion module is called upon and it appears there are a few requirements to be met for new servos to be included.

    Have you also corrected NUMBER_OF_JOINTS and ID_MAX in JointData.h?
    https://github.com/Interbotix/HROS1-...de/JointData.h

    It also appears rme is not prepared to display information about the added servos so it is likely changes will be needed there as well.
    https://github.com/Interbotix/HROS1-...ocess.cpp#L368

    RME also checks for ID_20_ROW which will need to be expanded upon and modified:
    https://github.com/Interbotix/HROS1-..._process.h#L49
    https://github.com/Interbotix/HROS1-...ocess.cpp#L198
    https://github.com/Interbotix/HROS1-...ocess.cpp#L899

    So that's about what I'm noticing at first glance. More code modifications will be necessary beyond adding the names and ID's of the new servos it would seem. Hope this helps.
    01001001001000000100110001101111011101100110010100 10000001010010011011110110001001101111011101000111 0011

    My Instagram
    My YouTube

  3. Re: HR-OS1 Has anyone added additional servos ?

    Hi r3n33

    Thank you for your suggestions. Yes, I have modified the code in above files, so RME can show the rows of two servos, like this.

    ID: 1(R_SHO_PITCH)[0461] 0387|---- ---- ---- ---- ---- ---- 55 init
    ID: 2(L_SHO_PITCH)[????] 0641|---- ---- ---- ---- ---- ---- 55 Page Number:0001
    ID: 3(R_SHO_ROLL) [????] 0460|---- ---- ---- ---- ---- ---- 55 Address:0x00200
    ID: 4(L_SHO_ROLL) [????] 0563|---- ---- ---- ---- ---- ---- 55 Play Count:001
    ID: 5(R_ELBOW) [????] 0452|---- ---- ---- ---- ---- ---- 55 Page Step:001
    ID: 6(L_ELBOW) [????] 0572|---- ---- ---- ---- ---- ---- 55 Page Speed:032
    ID: 7(R_HIP_YAW) [????] 0510|---- ---- ---- ---- ---- ---- 55 Accel Time:032
    ID: 8(L_HIP_YAW) [????] 0510|---- ---- ---- ---- ---- ---- 55 Link to Next:000
    ID: 9(R_HIP_ROLL) [????] 0512|---- ---- ---- ---- ---- ---- 55 Link to Exit:000
    ID:10(L_HIP_ROLL) [????] 0510|---- ---- ---- ---- ---- ---- 55 000
    ID:11(R_HIP_PITCH)[????] 0494|---- ---- ---- ---- ---- ---- 55
    ID:12(L_HIP_PITCH)[????] 0521|---- ---- ---- ---- ---- ---- 55
    ID:13(R_KNEE) [????] 0498|---- ---- ---- ---- ---- ---- 55
    ID:14(L_KNEE) [????] 0514|---- ---- ---- ---- ---- ---- 55
    ID:15(R_ANK_PITCH)[????] 0531|---- ---- ---- ---- ---- ---- 55
    ID:16(L_ANK_PITCH)[????] 0488|---- ---- ---- ---- ---- ---- 55
    ID:17(R_ANK_ROLL) [????] 0508|---- ---- ---- ---- ---- ---- 55
    ID:18(L_ANK_ROLL) [????] 0507|---- ---- ---- ---- ---- ---- 55
    ID:19(HEAD_PAN) [????] 0509|---- ---- ---- ---- ---- ---- 55
    ID:20(HEAD_TILT) [????] 0512|---- ---- ---- ---- ---- ---- 55
    ID:21(R_HAND) [????] ----|---- ---- ---- ---- ---- ---- 00
    ID:22(L_HAND) [????] ----|---- ---- ---- ---- ---- ---- 00
    PauseTime [ 000] 000| 000 000 000 000 000 000
    Time(x 8msec) [ 000] 200| 000 000 000 000 000 000
    STP7 STP0 STP1 STP2 STP3 STP4 STP5 STP6
    ]
    And the value can be changed in step 7 which shows the current value of servos. But it seems not enough. So, maybe cannot add data of new servos into motion_4096.bin file?

    Shirley

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Portland, OR
    Posts
    3,198
    Images
    952
    Rep Power
    150

    Re: HR-OS1 Has anyone added additional servos ?

    Quote Originally Posted by ShirleyWang View Post
    And the value can be changed in step 7 which shows the current value of servos. But it seems not enough. So, maybe cannot add data of new servos into motion_4096.bin file?

    Shirley
    I've actually done this before on some of the custom "Jimmy" robots we built over the course of the 21st Century Robot project, so I can tell you it does indeed work, it's just a bit cumbersome due to how the Darwin-OP framework was originally coded- most of the servo ID handling is hardcoded for 20 servos/darwin configuration, without any thought into scalability.

    I believe you also have to initialize each page as 'new' in rme to get them to respond, otherwise they have the old servo ID tables. The way the binary motion file is handled is poorly documented to say the least.

    I haven't actually done this in awhile, but you'll see some remnants of my code in the HROS5-Framework. Renee has some of it already and it sounds like you've figured out some, but here are my notes on what needs to be updated:

    JointData.h

    Update ID enum of JointData.h to include the new servos.

    Code:
    ID_L_ELBOW_YAW = 21,
    ID_R_ELBOW_YAW = 22,
    ID_MAX            = 22,
    NUMBER_OF_JOINTS    = 23     //This is always ID_MAX + 1
    JointData.cpp

    If you want to be able to properly execute motion module handoffs, you need to update the new joints into one of the enable functions in JointData.cpp So if you added servos to the arms, you'd want to update the corresponding functions:

    Code:
    void JointData::SetEnableRightArmOnly(bool enable, bool exclusive)
    {
        SetEnable(ID_R_SHOULDER_PITCH,  enable, exclusive);
        SetEnable(ID_R_SHOULDER_ROLL,   enable, exclusive);
        SetEnable(ID_R_ELBOW,           enable, exclusive);
        SetEnable(ID_R_ELBOW_YAW,   enable, exclusive);
        SetEnable(ID_R_WRIST_YAW,   enable, exclusive);
        SetEnable(ID_R_GRIPPER,     enable, exclusive);
    }

    dxl_monitor

    This one is pretty easy as it populates based on JointData.h so most of the work is already done. You do need to tell it what string label/name you want it to output when it detects a recognized servo in the framework though. Here's changes to cmd_process.cpp for example:

    Code:
            case JointData::ID_HEAD_TILT:
                return "HEAD_TILT";
    
    
            case ArbotixPro::ID_CM:
                return "ARBOTIX_PRO";
    
    
        case JointData::ID_TORSO_ROTATE:
            return "TORSO_ROTATE";
    
    
        case JointData::ID_R_ELBOW_YAW:
            return "R_ELBOW_YAW";
    
        case JointData::ID_L_ELBOW_YAW:
            return "L_ELBOW_YAW";
    
    
        case JointData::ID_R_WRIST_YAW:
            return "R_WRIST_YAW";
    
    
        case JointData::ID_L_WRIST_YAW:
            return "L_WRIST_YAW";
    
    
        case JointData::ID_R_GRIPPER:
            return "R_GRIPPER";
    
    
        case JointData::ID_L_GRIPPER:
            return "L_GRIPPER";
    rme/action_editor

    This gets a little trickier as there is a LOT hardcoded.

    cmd_process.cpp change example where I've added 6 servos for a total of 26, and renamed all servo IDs via JointData.h

    line 345~ in the DrawPage function
    Code:
        int res = system("clear"); res = 0;
        // 80    01234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789     //24
        printf( "ID: 1(RR_COXA)    [    ]                                                       \n" );//0
        printf( "ID: 2(RR_FEMUR)   [    ]                                       Page Number:    \n" );//1
        printf( "ID: 3(RR_TIBIA)   [    ]                                        Address:       \n" );//2
        printf( "ID: 4(RR_TARSUS)  [    ]                                         Play Count:   \n" );//3
        printf( "ID: 5(RM_COXA)    [    ]                                          Page Step:   \n" );//4
        printf( "ID: 6(RM_FEMUR)   [    ]                                         Page Speed:   \n" );//5
        printf( "ID: 7(RM_TIBIA)   [    ]                                         Accel Time:   \n" );//6
        printf( "ID: 8(RM_TARSUS)  [    ]                                       Link to Next:   \n" );//7
        printf( "ID: 9(RF_COXA)    [    ]                                       Link to Exit:   \n" );//8
        printf( "ID:10(RF_FEMUR)   [    ]                                                       \n" );//9
        printf( "ID:11(RF_TIBIA)   [    ]                                                       \n" );//0
        printf( "ID:12(RF_TARSUS)  [    ]                                                       \n" );//1
        printf( "ID:13(LR_COXA)    [    ]                                                       \n" );//2
        printf( "ID:14(LR_FEMUR)   [    ]                                                       \n" );//3
        printf( "ID:15(LR_TIBIA)   [    ]                                                       \n" );//4
        printf( "ID:16(LR_TARSUS)  [    ]                                                       \n" );//5
        printf( "ID:17(LM_COXA)    [    ]                                                       \n" );//6
        printf( "ID:18(LM_FEMUR)   [    ]                                                       \n" );//7
        printf( "ID:19(LM_TIBIA)   [    ]                                                       \n" );//8
        printf( "ID:20(LM_TARSUS)  [    ]                                                       \n" );//9
        printf( "ID:21(LF_COXA)    [    ]                                                       \n" );//0
        printf( "ID:22(LF_FEMUR)   [    ]                                                       \n" );//1
        printf( "ID:23(LF_TIBIA)   [    ]                                                       \n" );//2
        printf( "ID:24(LF_TARSUS)  [    ]                                                       \n" );//3
        printf( "ID:25(HEAD_PAN)   [    ]                                                       \n" );//4
        printf( "ID:26(HEAD_TILT)  [    ]                                                       \n" );//5
        printf( "   PauseTime      [    ]                                                       \n" );//6
    Next you need to update cmd_process.h so it draws more rows in the terminal to account for additional servo, example:

    line 8~

    Code:
    #define SCREEN_COL            80
    #define SCREEN_ROW            30  //original value was 24, + 6 for additional servos.

    line 31~

    Code:
    // Position of Row
    #define ID_1_ROW    0
    #define ID_2_ROW    1
    #define ID_3_ROW    2
    #define ID_4_ROW    3
    #define ID_5_ROW    4
    #define ID_6_ROW    5
    #define ID_7_ROW    6
    #define ID_8_ROW    7
    #define ID_9_ROW    8
    #define ID_10_ROW    9
    #define ID_11_ROW    10
    #define ID_12_ROW    11
    #define ID_13_ROW    12
    #define ID_14_ROW    13
    #define ID_15_ROW    14
    #define ID_16_ROW    15
    #define ID_17_ROW    16
    #define ID_18_ROW    17
    #define ID_19_ROW    18
    #define ID_20_ROW    19
    //new servos here
    #define ID_21_ROW    20
    #define ID_22_ROW    21
    #define ID_23_ROW    22
    #define ID_24_ROW    23
    #define ID_25_ROW    24
    #define ID_26_ROW    25
    //pause & speed row are sequentially enumerated from the prior value 
    //(0 through 25 in this case, 0 through 19 on stock darwin)
    #define PAUSE_ROW    26 //originally 20
    #define SPEED_ROW    27 //originally 21
    #define CMD_ROW        29 //originally 23 (this is always SPEED_ROW + 2)
    I believe that's it. Any other terminal programs would need to be updated in a similar manner. Let me know if this works for you.

  5. Re: HR-OS1 Has anyone added additional servos ?

    I believe that's it. Any other terminal programs would need to be updated in a similar manner. Let me know if this works for you.
    Thanks, Tyberius. But it still doesn't work. I create a new motion file in main.cpp to initialize each page as new, is that right?

    In cmd_process.cpp, I found these code in function PlayCmd():

    if (arbotixpro->ReadWord(id, AXDXL::P_GOAL_POSITION_L, &value, 0) == ArbotixPro::SUCCESS)
    {
    MotionStatus::m_CurrentJoints.SetValue(id, value);
    }


    It will gets the value from address P_GOAL_POSITION_L=30, but the value of two new servos looks wrong. The value of first 20 servos are same as the value in the final step column. But the value of 21&22 are same as the current value of robot. Is it the reason why the new servos doesn't work? I didn't find the code that write the value into this address.

    P.S. The range of two new servos is [0,500] not [0,1024], but I don't think it has any effect in this problem.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    342
    Images
    15
    Rep Power
    43

    Re: HR-OS1 Has anyone added additional servos ?

    Do you have your modified code available on github? I'd be willing to take another look and could possibly test on my HR-OS1.
    01001001001000000100110001101111011101100110010100 10000001010010011011110110001001101111011101000111 0011

    My Instagram
    My YouTube

  7. Re: HR-OS1 Has anyone added additional servos ?

    Quote Originally Posted by r3n33 View Post
    Do you have your modified code available on github? I'd be willing to take another look and could possibly test on my HR-OS1.
    I've just uploaded the code on github. Here it is. https://github.com/shirleyghost/HROS1-Framework
    Thanks!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    342
    Images
    15
    Rep Power
    43

    Re: HR-OS1 Has anyone added additional servos ?

    Great thank you!

    The good news is your code modifications compiled successfully and allowed me to control the two new servos in rme.

    These are the steps I took to validate your changes:

    1. Configured two additional servos with ID 21 & 22
    2. Compiled the framework changes by running 'make' command in .../HROS1-Framework/Linux/build/
    3. Compiled and executed dxl_monitor to verify all of the servos were present.
    4. Compiled and executed rme to create a new action page

    In RME I navigated to an empty page and used the 'new' command to initialize a new page and inserted a few steps, configured the time, set a loop count, etc. Once my action page was setup I entered the 'play' command and all was well.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Screen Shot 2016-03-08 at 11.05.44 AM.jpg 
Views:	675 
Size:	147.9 KB 
ID:	6483



    So your code looks OK to me and functions well. RME can be a little tricky to work with but Trossen has a helpful video (that even I had to use to refresh myself).
    01001001001000000100110001101111011101100110010100 10000001010010011011110110001001101111011101000111 0011

    My Instagram
    My YouTube

  9. Re: HR-OS1 Has anyone added additional servos ?

    Quote Originally Posted by r3n33 View Post
    Great thank you!

    The good news is your code modifications compiled successfully and allowed me to control the two new servos in rme.

    These are the steps I took to validate your changes:

    1. Configured two additional servos with ID 21 & 22
    2. Compiled the framework changes by running 'make' command in .../HROS1-Framework/Linux/build/
    3. Compiled and executed dxl_monitor to verify all of the servos were present.
    4. Compiled and executed rme to create a new action page

    So your code looks OK to me and functions well. RME can be a little tricky to work with but Trossen has a helpful video (that even I had to use to refresh myself).
    Thanks, Renee. I removed the directory and re-copy from github. It works this time. Oh, how stupid I am!


    o(︶︿︶)o

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    342
    Images
    15
    Rep Power
    43

    Re: HR-OS1 Has anyone added additional servos ?

    Great news. I'm really glad it's working.

    Who hasn't tried testing modified code from the wrong working directory?
    01001001001000000100110001101111011101100110010100 10000001010010011011110110001001101111011101000111 0011

    My Instagram
    My YouTube

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-29-2013, 12:31 PM
  2. Project Added turret to my PhantomX.
    By KevinO in forum Humanoids, Walkers & Crawlers
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-07-2013, 09:14 AM
  3. Additional KHR-2HV options...
    By rpedro in forum Off Topic
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-27-2008, 12:24 AM
  4. Replies: 30
    Last Post: 05-29-2008, 10:47 AM
  5. Laser Harp Mk III - now with added WiiMote
    By shobley in forum Off Topic
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-25-2008, 03:26 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •