Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Create service intel edison

  1. #1
    javilez Guest

    Create service intel edison

    Hi. I wanted to ask how I can create a service in intel edison? I need get processes that are currently running every 5 minutes, and if a sketch is not running start it. Is similar a watchdog.


    One idea is to run the 'ps' command and save the result in a txt file. Then read the file and look if the scketch (my main program) is running. If it is not running, it starts. But, I can't khow how can I do it?

    Tanks.

    Javier.
    Hi. I wanted to ask how I can create a service in intel edison engaged in consultation processes that are currently running, and if a sketch is not running start it.

  2. #2

    Re: Create service intel edison

    You might have better luck if you ask up on the Edison forum: https://communities.intel.com/commun...edison/content

  3. #3

    Re: Create service intel edison

    If you're running Linux, then there are already parts of Linux that monitor services and re-start them if they crash.
    Original Linux used "init" for that (configured in /etc/inittab)
    More modern Linux uses upstart, or systemd, or other such systems. I don't know what Edison uses.
    Finally, there's a command-line tool called "monit" which does a similar thing, you can try using that.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    342
    Images
    15
    Rep Power
    32

    Re: Create service intel edison

    I needed something similar with an Edison project in the past. You can find my solution on github:

    https://github.com/r3n33/EddieBalanc.../master/extras

    Can't guarantee Intel has changed things with later releases of the Yocto image but this was the last good information I had on the subject.

    Good luck!
    01001001001000000100110001101111011101100110010100 10000001010010011011110110001001101111011101000111 0011

    My Instagram
    My YouTube

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. My HR OS-1 falls a lot, can't pair PS3 to Intel Edison
    By OldBotBuilder in forum HR-OS1 Development and Discussion
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 06-08-2016, 01:58 AM
  2. Affordable robot frame fabrication service
    By wiweet in forum Humanoids, Walkers & Crawlers
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-04-2015, 05:52 PM
  3. Experiment with Intel Edison...
    By KurtEck in forum Arbotix, Microcontrollers, Arduino
    Replies: 99
    Last Post: 05-27-2015, 01:36 PM
  4. Question(s) New robot question and Intel Edison
    By dmcman73 in forum Robotics General Discussion
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-16-2015, 10:26 AM
  5. Question(s) Interfacing FLIR Lepton with Intel Edison
    By McRender in forum Sensors
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 03-07-2015, 12:54 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •