Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: [AX12/MX28]-Get position by moving manually the motor

  1. Question [AX12/MX28]-Get position by moving manually the motor

    Hello all,
    I have a question about how to recover the position of the motor.
    So I made a robot arm with 2 ax12 and 2 mx28. I can control them but now I wanted to do something more.
    I want to be able to read the position of each motor when my arm is in certain position, position I define manually by moving the arm.
    My question is : if I move the arm without setting the load on (which mean that there is no resistance in the arm) will the ax12 be able to give me there position or should I first set the load on -> move the arm -> read the position ?
    And if so will I not damage the motor by moving the arm with the load set on ?
    Thank you for your help.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    White Plains, NY
    Posts
    122
    Images
    1
    Rep Power
    14

    Re: [AX12/MX28]-Get position by moving manually the motor

    Set the servo to zero torque, and read the servo's position whenever you want. This works just fine; I use this approach during startup to determine my hexapod's leg positions so it can rise gracefully. Move the servo slowly.

  3. #3

    Re: [AX12/MX28]-Get position by moving manually the motor

    Yes, you read the PRESENT_POSITION register to see what the current pose of the arm is.

    The AX12 gives you a range of +/- 150 degrees from center; the MX28 gives you the full +/- 180 degrees.

  4. #4

    Re: [AX12/MX28]-Get position by moving manually the motor


  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    White Plains, NY
    Posts
    122
    Images
    1
    Rep Power
    14

    Re: [AX12/MX28]-Get position by moving manually the motor

    That link is cool! Linked arms, one tracking the other...

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Question(s) Unable to read AX12 servo position values during Interrupt Service Routine using arbotix.
    By rishflab in forum DYNAMIXEL & Robot Actuators
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-29-2016, 07:23 PM
  2. Mx28 : Need help to control the goal position.
    By danyboy in forum DYNAMIXEL & Robot Actuators
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 07-01-2013, 03:16 AM
  3. MX28 Setup with AX12 on the same USB2Dynamixel
    By dshinsel in forum DYNAMIXEL & Robot Actuators
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-13-2013, 11:59 AM
  4. Programming AX12 Motor ID
    By Gilrock in forum Software and Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-31-2011, 06:51 PM
  5. AX12 Position Interpolation question.
    By DC Robotic in forum Software and Programming
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-05-2011, 05:18 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •