Category
    Introduction
    Views
    Replies

So You Want To Build A Robot?

Difficulty
    Beginner
    So You Want to Build a Robot?
    If you are reading this, you clearly want to build a robot. Why? This is a common question that I get from people, so why do I build robots? Personally, I find that robotics a great vehicle for learning many skills, in many areas. Furthermore, I like to create stuff. I'm an avid woodworker and metalworker... but the simplest robot I have ever created had more personality than the finest furniture I make ever will. The goal of this tutorial is to get you started building your first robot, by identifying which skills you have, which skills you will need, and by finding the relevant resources out there.

Your skill set
    Before we begin, ask yourself, what are your skills? Do you like to assemble things? Do you like to build things from scratch? Have you ever programmed a computer? Ever programmed a microcontroller? Have you ever done any electronics? As will be seen below, robotics is a blend engineering and creativity in the areas of mechanical, electrical and software design. Typically, a person who is interested in robotics will find that they have moderate to great skills in one of these areas, but may lack any understanding of the others -- don't fret! There are solutions out there that will help make up in any of these areas and, over time, you will find yourself picking up knowledge in all of these areas.

What is a robot?
    There are two major types of robots: radio-controlled ones, and robots that think on their own (autonomous robots). As I am primarily a builder of autonomous bots, I will be focusing on that type throughout this tutorial.