1. Category
    Introduction
    Views
    Replies

Wireless Communications

Difficulty
    I'll try to explain the acronyms
    Hello all,
    My name is Shane, but my mates call me Boris. With that comment, you can tell I'm Australian! I am a student in telecommunications engineering, and am particularly entranced by wireless communications.
    When I started designing robots in 1997, open source was yet to explode, and wireless communications was a dream in Bell Labs. Telstra Multimedia was a synonym for cable TV. But I dreamed of pumping live video feeds down phone lines (much the way that xDSL works today) and trying to get my amateur radio licence to play with packet radio.
    How times have changed! We have so many options now, and they have their pros and cons. I'll examine each technology in turn, explain it, and list these pros and cons for each. Hopefully, with this guide, you will be able to make an informed choice about the way YOUR robot will be untethered. So without further ado, lets examine the options you have, as a robot builder.

THE OPTIONS:
    1. Wifi
    2. Bluetooth
    3. Zigbee
    4. GSM
    5. UMTS/ HSxPA
    6. CDMA
    7. Packet Radio
    8. Exotics (for interest)

THE EXPLANATIONS:
    1. Wifi
    Wifi is probably one of the most popular, and well marketed wireless communications systems today. It is, in part, matched by Bluetooth, but Wifi has superior speed, and range. As we will see in this article, there are longer range comms systems, but they have lower speeds.
    Wifi started off at 1Mbps, if you can believe that! Speed increase, due to spread spectrum systems, was fast. Backwards compatibility, not only to supprt older gear, but also to support links in higher noise environments, was a design criteria in Wifi.
    Today, most people are familiar with the 2.4GHz version of Wifi, known commonly as 802.11b/ 802.11g. Don't be scared by these numbers, its like saying "an 82 Class locomotive" or "a 2005 model Ford Falcon."